The Crystal Kite Awards!

Posted on Updated on

Hello world-

It’s that time of the year again!

The Crystal Kite Awards are upon us! These are special because the books are chosen by people in the kidlit industry who are members of SCBWI. All authors, illustrators, and translators can vote.

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think DEEP, DEEP DOWN would be a finalist for the Crystal Kite Award in the Canadian division! I’m in shock. Thanks to all who voted! I’m in great company, so I’d like to congratulate all the other finalists.

I remember waiting years for this book to come to fruition, then being disappointed because I got no big trade reviews at all, it’s like they all ignored my book. But being a finalist in a competition that’s judged by my peers is so utterly rewarding. It’s a great reminder for all of us; that reviews don’t fully determine the worth of our work. We just need to continue writing / illustrating and focusing on what we love.

For all SCBWI members, voting is open until June 21. Plus, you can vote in multiple divisions!

https://www.scbwi.org/crystal-kite

Good luck to all!
Love & Light,
Lydia

8 thoughts on “The Crystal Kite Awards!

    claireannette1 said:
    June 12, 2024 at 8:53 am

    Congratulations, Lydia! Your post was the incentive I needed to take a look at all the 2nd round books and I just realized that we can vote for books in regions other than our own.

    Like

    seschipper said:
    June 11, 2024 at 10:48 pm

    Congratulations, Lydia! DEEP, DEEP DOWN is an amazing book! 🐟

    Like

    ElizabethSuneby said:
    June 11, 2024 at 7:06 pm

    What a wonderful book and honor

    Like

    Jilanne Hoffmann said:
    June 11, 2024 at 4:26 pm

    Congrats and good luck, Lydia!

    Liked by 1 person

    Cathy Stefanec Ogren said:
    June 10, 2024 at 1:21 pm

    Congratulations, Lydia! I so happy for you. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    marty bellis said:
    June 10, 2024 at 12:07 pm

    Congrats, Lydia! Such an honor. Good luck in the final round of voting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Angie said:
    June 10, 2024 at 10:18 am

    Awesome! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

    Kim A Larson said:
    June 10, 2024 at 8:30 am

    Congratulations!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment