Why I LOVE Working with Children!

Posted on Updated on

I love being a writer.

It rocks.

But sometimes, writing can be an isolating experience. One of the reasons I love giving workshops is because I get to interact with children of all ages. And let me tell you, that is a truly enriching experience! Even though I’m there to teach them about building narratives and developing characters, I end up learning a thing or two after each workshop.

Here are the top 5 reasons I love working with children:

  1. Children are hilarious!

I often write down the things they say because the statements can be incredibly funny. Even when they’re not trying to be funny, they’re funny. When I walk into a school, I like to have a notepad and pen handy at all times.

  1. Children are super creative!

I find the creative mind of a child to be deeper than that of most adults- if only we could tap into our own childlike view of the world!

  1. Children are inspiring!

Yup. Pretty much everything they do and say inspires me. I look at them in wonder and amazement. Their lives could create wonderful stories. I even turned my daughter’s ultra-picky eating habits and her sometimes frustrating sleeping habits into comical books.

  1. Children keep me on my toes!

I need to keep a pulse on what’s going down in the world of Kidlit. I need to know what books children like, and what they don’t like. How can you write for children if you never take the time to hang out with them? And how else would I know that nobody ever says “yahoo” anymore (apparently, it’s lame now), but they love to say “props” and “swag” while they add in a dab (if you were like me and have no clue what this is, click HERE.)

But best of all….drumroll please…………………………

  1. Children make me a better writer!

As you well know, children make great critics. Plus, they have no filter. None. At. All. If they don’t like something, they’ll either show it or they’re straight out tell you. Talking with them is like being in a middle of a nonstop focus group. And at the end of the day, this helps me improve my own writing.

Leave a Reply

