Children Rock!

Posted on Updated on

I love working with children. I love hearing their wacky ideas and I love peeking inside their incredibly imaginative minds. I love hearing about what they like and what they don’t like, and I especially love discovering what draws them in.

Good thing I’m a children’s writer!

But -writing can be an isolating experience. This is one of the many reasons I enjoy give writing workshops in elementary schools. I get to interact with the students while teaching them about the wonderful craft of writing. I absolutely love it!

As an author, I’m always striving to remain connected to that youthful part of myself that sees life through the lens of magic. At some point, we tend to lose this magical perspective and become more rooted in reality and practicality. When I see the innocently creative ideas that pour out of children’s wondrous minds, I get re-connected. The best part is when I ask them to create and develop their own characters and stories. That’s when the real magic happens!

Who wouldn’t love Burbol, a lovable creature with 8 arms and spiky hair who’s petrified of shooting stars? Who wouldn’t love freckled-faced Tyson, the best surfer dude in the world? And who wouldn’t love to live in a town where it inexplicably rains cookies and ice cream cones every day? And let’s not forget a brain-eating zombie who dresses up in a tuxedo and trolls around in graveyards!

Hebrew Academy3 Hebrew Academy5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are just some of the wacky ideas developed by the students at Hebrew Academy. The recent workshops generated excitement and boundless creativity. They reminded me of why I love to do what I do!

A special thank-you to the lovely students who allowed me to share their work: Raphael, Nathan, Isaa, Aliyah and Ella. Some of their work is posted here and I will post the rest on Facebook. A big thank-you to the teachers and staff as well.

Don’t forget to check out educator Leona Land’s blog, click HERE. She documented my recent book reading and puppetry making workshop with her grade 1 class. Hope you enjoy!

Love & Light,

Lydia
Hebew Academy6Hebrew Academy4

 

Leave a Reply

