The Rules of Rejection

Posted on Updated on

Nobody likes rejection. But if you pick a career as a writer, rejection comes with the territory. It will inevitably pop up in your life, whether you like it or not.

The first time I got rejected from a big publishing house, I was expecting it. I was prepared and had my shield up, ready for the attack. In an odd kind of way, getting my first rejection letter made me feel happy. I thought to myself, well, now I’m in the game and starting to “deal” with the big fish! The fifth time I got rejected I was still going strong. But by the time my new manuscript got rejected fifteen times, the novelty had worn off. I had written this book in 2013 but because publishing houses take a notoriously long time to answer, it’s been making its rounds for almost two years now. I started to wonder how long this would take.

Mind you, the letters of rejection were not totally discouraging. They were as positive as they could be. The editor informed me that my book was very well written, but that it simply wasn’t the right fit for them. In other words, “it’s not you it’s me.”

I tried to play it cool, but the truth was that I went into full panic mode. Thoughts were spinning around in my head in an endless toxic loop as I wondered, What if my book is not good enough?

Ugh. I let doubt get the better of me for a while.

So how did I get through it? Well, there’s no easy solution. I’m learning to develop tougher skin, for one. I’m trying to remain patient. I keep on sharpening my writing skills. I hang on to the belief that every door that closes brings me one step closer to the right publishing house. It’s advice every author has heard before, but it’s all we have to cling to. This profession keeps you on your toes. You have to keep on going, even when things don’t seem to be moving forward on the surface.

And today, I feel even more determined with every rejection. The truth is, I love my book! I believe in it. So I’ll keep knocking on doors until my manuscript finds a home.

This is a reminder for us all; if at first we don’t succeed, TRY AGAIN!!

smart-goals1

#Believe #KeepGoing

Love & Light,
Lydia

5 thoughts on “The Rules of Rejection

    irrationalliving said:
    June 8, 2015 at 11:48 am

    There’s great inspiration in your story. “The surest way to succeed is always to try just one more time.” Nothing can stop you as long as you don’t stop yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

      lydialukidis responded:
      June 8, 2015 at 11:58 am

      Yes! The trick is to always catch yourself when you start becoming your own obstacle and entertaining too much doubt.

      Liked by 1 person

    D.I. Ozier said:
    June 8, 2015 at 10:57 am

    You’re exactly right that rejection is a core part of being a writer. I think the best thing anyone can do when confronted with rejection is to do your best to learn and grow from the experience.

    Liked by 1 person

      lydialukidis responded:
      June 8, 2015 at 11:08 am

      J. K. Rowling was constantly rejected and told “not to quit her day job” for years before she pierced the bubble to success!
      We can’t ever give up….

      Like

Leave a Reply

